Senate Confirms 12 Obama Judges Before Ending The 113th Congress

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-NV) ended the 113th Congress with a holiday gift for President Barack Obama: 12 new lifetime-tenured judges to add to his legacy.

After wrapping up a series of executive branch nominations, the Senate voted 51-38 on Tuesday night to confirm Stephen Bough to be a federal judge in the Western District of Missouri.

Then the Senate confirmed 11 district court nominees by voice votes, to save time.

They are Jorge Alonso to the Northern District of Illinois; Haywood Gilliam Jr. to the Northern District of California; Amit Mehta to the District of Columbia; Allison Burrough to the District of Massachusetts; John Blakey to the Northern District of Illinois; Amos Mazzant III to the Eastern District of Texas; Robert Pittman to the Western District of Texas; Robert Schroeder III to the Eastern District of Texas; Joan Azrack to the Eastern District of New York; Elizabeth Dillon to the Western District of Virginia, and Loretta Biggs to the Middle District of North Carolina.

It was Reid’s final act as Senate majority leader.

Dear Reader,

When we asked recently what makes TPM different from other outlets, readers cited factors like honesty, curiosity, transparency, and our vibrant community. They also pointed to our ability to report on important stories and trends long before they are picked up by mainstream outlets; our ability to contextualize information within the arc of history; and our focus on the real-world consequences of the news.

Our unique approach to reporting and presenting the news, however, wouldn’t be possible without our readers’ support. That’s not just marketing speak, it’s true: our work would literally not be possible without readers deciding to become members. Not only does member support account for more than 80% of TPM’s revenue, our members have helped us build an engaged and informed community. Many of our best stories were born from reader tips and valuable member feedback.

We do what other news outlets can’t or won’t do because our members’ support gives us real independence.

If you enjoy reading TPM and value what we do, become a member today.

TPM Staff
Latest Livewire
Masthead Masthead
Founder & Editor-in-Chief:
Executive Editor:
Managing Editor:
Associate Editor:
Investigations Desk:
Director of Audience:
Editor at Large:
General Counsel:
Head of Product:
Director of Technology:
Associate Publisher:
Front End Developer:
Senior Designer: