Olbermann Returns With New Countdown Monday On Current TV

He’s baaaack! After his ouster from MSNBC in late January, progressive pundit Keith Olbermann will debut his new Countdown on Current TV Monday night.

The show has bagged a number of high-profile guest hosts and commentators. David Shuster will be Olbermann’s primary stand-in, according to a Current release from Friday. Other frequent contributors will include Rolling Stone‘s Matt Taibi, Mother Jones‘ Kate Shappard, and former Nixon White House counsel John Dean among others.“Once again I have the pleasure of welcoming home so many old friends to this medium’s new primary network for progressive news, and am delighted they’ll be helping me defend Freedom Of Television,” Olbermann said in the release.

Olbermann sealed a $10 million a year deal with Current, The Hollywood Reporter reports, and he’s keeping his old time slot of 8 p.m. With his executive position in the company, according to the report, he could make up to $100 million in his five-year contract.

Olbermann is setting the bar high, saying in a promo for the show that his program will rise above corporate spin.

“Everyday we’re left with a bit less clarity,” he said. “Until now.”

In a conference call with the media last week, Olbermann admitted he hasn’t watched MSNBC for more than five minutes since he left. The challenge at his new home, of course, will be attracting viewers. As the New York Times reports, Current generally appears pretty high on the cable channel lineup, and is only watched by tens of thousands at a time.

Olbermann’s first guests Monday will include liberal filmmaker Michael Moore and Daily Kos founder and publisher Markos Moulitsas.

Watch Olbermann’s promo here.

Masthead Masthead
Editor & Publisher:
Managing Editor:
Senior News Editor:
Assistant Editor:
Editor at Large:
Investigations Desk:
Senior Political Correspondent:
Front Page Editor:
Social Media Editor:
Editor for Prime & Special Projects:
General Manager & General Counsel:
Executive Publisher:
Head of Product:
Director of Technology:
Publishing Associate:
Front-End Developer: