Claire McCaskill: ‘Majority’ Of Senate Republicans Won’t Vote Trump

Start your day with TPM.
Sign up for the Morning Memo newsletter

Senator Claire McCaskill (D-MO) believes the majority of her Republican colleagues in the Senate won’t vote for Donald Trump.

“I believe, and I’m basing this on some of the things my colleagues have said to me, I believe the majority of the Republicans in the U.S. Senate are not going to vote for Donald Trump,” she told radio host McGraw Milhaven Wednesday on Missouri’s KTRS, as reported by CNN.

“Because they know that they can work with Hillary Clinton and get some things done,” she continued.

Asked for clarification on her GOP colleague’s voting preferences, McCaskill said “I believe that a great number of them will not be voting for Donald Trump, and a great number of them will in fact vote for Hillary Clinton.”

“So you’re saying privately they’ll vote for her, but publicly they will support him?” Milhaven asked.

“Correct,” McCaskill replied.

Numerous Republican senators, including Susan Collins (R-ME), John McCain (R-AZ), Kelly Ayotte (R-NH), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Ben Sasse (R-NE), Rob Portman (R-OH), Mark Kirk (R-IL), Jeff Flake (R-AZ) Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), and Dan Sullivan (R-AK), have said they do not support his candidacy.

Latest Livewire
Masthead Masthead
Founder & Editor-in-Chief:
Executive Editor:
Managing Editor:
Associate Editor:
Editor at Large:
General Counsel:
Head of Product:
Director of Technology:
Associate Publisher:
Front End Developer:
Senior Designer: