House GOP Crowns Kevin McCarthy The Next Majority Leader

House Majority Whip Kevin McCarthy of California will be the next majority leader.

As expected, Republicans elected McCarthy to replace ousted Rep. Eric Cantor once he steps down from the post on July 31. McCarthy defeated upstart Rep. Raúl Labrador, a second-term congressman who enjoyed some tea party support.

It was a secret ballot election so the vote tally won’t be announced.

So, what does this mean for Congress?

Probably not much. Cantor and McCarthy each have a unique set of relationships, quirks and constituent demands that affect their leadership styles on the margins. But House Republicans suggest that the two are equally conservative and that those outside Congress won’t notice much of a difference.

“You’ll see a lot of similarities,” said Rep. Devin Nunes (R-CA). “There’s a difference — one’s a Virginian, one’s a Californian. But I wouldn’t say there’s going to be a major change.”

Cantor and McCarthy have been close allies in Speaker John Boehner’s leadership team since Republicans took the majority in 2011. The duty of the majority leader is to run the House floor and set the schedule, although the Speaker can delegate to him considerable authority on larger strategy.

Cantor was spotted entering the room, backed by an entourage of staffers, before the leadership election began on Thursday.

Immediately after McCarthy was announced the winner, House Republicans moved to nomination speeches and a vote for the next majority whip. The candidates are Rep. Steve Scalise (R-LA), Peter Roskam (R-IL) and Marlin Stutzman (R-IN). Scalise and Roskam were ahead of Stutzman but it wasn’t obvious who would win. If none of the candidates gets the 117 votes to secure an outright majority, there would immediately be a second ballot between the two front-runners.

The area outside the Capitol Hill room where the election took place reeked of cigarette smoke, which reporters and staffers suspected was the work of Boehner, an avid smoker.

Update: Scalise has been elected the next majority whip.

Dear Reader,

When we asked recently what makes TPM different from other outlets, readers cited factors like honesty, curiosity, transparency, and our vibrant community. They also pointed to our ability to report on important stories and trends long before they are picked up by mainstream outlets; our ability to contextualize information within the arc of history; and our focus on the real-world consequences of the news.

Our unique approach to reporting and presenting the news, however, wouldn’t be possible without our readers’ support. That’s not just marketing speak, it’s true: our work would literally not be possible without readers deciding to become members. Not only does member support account for more than 80% of TPM’s revenue, our members have helped us build an engaged and informed community. Many of our best stories were born from reader tips and valuable member feedback.

We do what other news outlets can’t or won’t do because our members’ support gives us real independence.

If you enjoy reading TPM and value what we do, become a member today.

TPM Staff
Latest Dc
Masthead Masthead
Founder & Editor-in-Chief:
Executive Editor:
Managing Editor:
Associate Editor:
Investigations Desk:
Director of Audience:
Editor at Large:
General Counsel:
Head of Product:
Director of Technology:
Associate Publisher:
Front End Developer:
Senior Designer: