9 House Committee Chairs Endorse Donald Trump

Start your day with TPM.
Sign up for the Morning Memo newsletter

Nine chairs of the 20 House standing committees jumped on board the Donald Trump bandwagon Friday afternoon, calling for the party to coalesce around the presumptive party nominee.

Committee chairs Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH), small business, Rep. Michael Conaway (R-TX), agriculture, Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-TX), financial services, Rep. Candice Miller (R-MI), house administration, Rep. Jeff Miller (R-FL), veterans’ affairs, Rep. Tom Price (R-GA), budget, Rep. Pete Sessions (R-TX), rules, Rep. Bill Shuster (R-PA), transportation and infrastructure, and Rep. Lamar Smith (R-TX), science, space and technology, endorsed Trump’s campaign in a joint statement.

“We stand on the precipice of one of the most important elections of our lifetime,” the lawmakers said. “It is paramount that we coalesce around the Republican nominee, Mr. Donald J. Trump, and maintain control of both the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate.”

Read the full statement via Washington Post:

Latest Livewire
Masthead Masthead
Founder & Editor-in-Chief:
Executive Editor:
Managing Editor:
Associate Editor:
Editor at Large:
General Counsel:
Head of Product:
Director of Technology:
Associate Publisher:
Front End Developer:
Senior Designer: