In it, but not of it. TPM DC

The 6 Democrats And 6 Republicans Who Crossed Party Lines On Abortion Ban

AP Photo / J. Scott Applewhite

The six Democrats who voted for the act were Reps. Nick Rahall (WV), Collin Peterson (MN), Jim Matheson (UT), Mike McIntyre (NC), Dan Lipinski (IL) and Henry Cuellar (TX).

The first four hail from significantly Republican-leaning districts. Lipinski represents a Democratic-leaning but socially conservative suburban district. Cuellar is a Blue Dog member from a swing Texas district and opposes abortion rights.

The six Republicans who voted against the act were Reps. Paul Broun (GA), Rob Woodall (GA), Richard Hanna (NY), Charlie Dent (PA), Rodney Frelinghuysen (NJ) and Jon Runyan (NJ).

They're a mix of moderates who said the bill went too far in curtailing rights, including Hanna and Dent, and ultraconservatives who weren't on board with the rape and incest exemptions.

Dent criticized his party's leadership for focusing on abortion in a bad economy. "The stupidity is simply staggering," he told CQ Roll Call.

Broun, meanwhile, spoke out against the rape and incest exceptions, and his vote has endeared him to pro-life activists as he eyes a Senate bid in 2014.