Governors, Mayors Order Bans Against Taxpayer-Funded Travel to IN

Start your day with TPM.
Sign up for the Morning Memo newsletter

One of the repercussions of Indiana Gov. Mike Pence (R) signing the controversial religious freedom bill into law is that a spate of governors and mayors have instituted bans against taxpayer funded travel to Indiana. As of Tuesday, three governors and five mayors had ordered such bans.

The latest was New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo (D), who, shortly after Pence held a nationally televised press conference where he said he wanted to see changes to the law, announced a taxpayer travel ban to Indiana.

On Monday, Washington Gov. Jay Inslee (D) on Monday announced his own travel ban to Indiana.

“I find Indiana’s new law disturbing, particularly at a time when more and more states and people in America are embracing civil rights for everyone,” Inslee said in a statement.

Those two gubernatorial travel bans follow Connecticut Gov. Dannel Malloy’s (D) announcement. Malloy has continued to be one of the most direct critics of Pence, saying on MSNBC “when you see a bigot, you have to call them out.”

The mayors in Portland, San Diego, San Francisco, and Seattle have also have instituted similar bans.

“San Francisco taxpayers will not subsidize legally sanctioned-discrimination against lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people by the state of Indiana,” San Francisco Mayor Edwin Lee (D) said in a statement.

In Washington D.C., City Council member David Grosso (I) has called for his the nation’s capital to institute a similar policy.

Latest Livewire
Masthead Masthead
Founder & Editor-in-Chief:
Executive Editor:
Managing Editor:
Associate Editor:
Editor at Large:
General Counsel:
Head of Product:
Director of Technology:
Associate Publisher:
Front End Developer:
Senior Designer: