The 22 Republicans Who Bucked Boehner On The Debt Bill

July 29, 2011 3:27 p.m.

After a dramatic 24 hours filled with vote delays, arm-twisting, and the Tea Party flexing its political muscle, in the end House Republicans managed to pass Speaker John Boehner’s (R-OH) debt bill quite easily in a party-line vote of 218 to 210.

Boehner ended up agreeing to include a balanced budget amendment — even though it has no chance of passing in the Senate. The concession was enough to attract a majority of Republicans, many of whom were elected on pledges to slash spending. The real heavy-lifting now begins between Boehner and Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-NV) who must forge a compromise that can pass both chambers and be signed by the President before the rapidly approaching Aug. 2 deadline for default.Despite the last-minute parliamentary gymnastics by GOP leaders, in the end 22 Republicans bolted. Many more wanted to but were convinced to fall in line in support of the bill.

Here’s the list of conservative Republicans who voted against the Boehner bill. Rep. Tom Latham (R-IA), who faces his toughest re-election in his career, and the entire GOP South Carolina delegation waited until the final seconds to cast their not vote:

Justin Amash (MI)

Michele Bachmann (MN)

Paul Broun (GA)

Jason Chaffetz (UT)

Chip Cravaack (MN)

Scott DesJarlais (TN)

Jeff Duncan (SC)

Trey Gowdy (SC)

Tom Graves (GA)

Tim Huelskamp (KS)

Tim Johnson (IL)

Jim Jordan (OH)

Steve King (IA)

Tom Latham (IA)

Connie Mack (FL)

Tom McClintock (CA)

Mick Mulvaney (SC)

Ron Paul (TX)

Tim Scott (SC)

Steve Southerland (FL)

Joe Walsh (IL)

Joe Wilson (SC)

Other GOP members — and one Democrat — waited until the final minutes to cast their votes.

Those members are:

Ted Poe (TX)

Steven Pearse (NM)

Dan Lungren (CA)

Mike McCaul (TX)

Steve Latourette (OH)

Doug Lamborn (CO)

Morgan Griffith (VA)

Sean Duffy (WI)

Lloyd Doggett (D-TX)

Michael Burgess (TX)

Brian Bilbray (CA)

Joe Barton (TX)

Support The TPM Journalism Fund
  • Contributions allow us to hire more journalists
  • Contributions allow us to provide free memberships to those who cannot afford them
  • Contributions support independent, non-corporate journalism
Masthead Masthead
Founder & Editor-in-Chief:
Executive Editor:
Managing Editor:
Senior Editor:
Special Projects Editor:
Editor at Large:
General Counsel:
Head of Product:
Director of Technology:
Associate Publisher:
Front-End Developer:
Senior Designer: