House Passes Wilson Disapproval Motion

Getty Images

The motion to disapprove of Rep. Joe Wilson’s (R-SC) outburst of “You lie!” during President Obama’s speech to Congress last week has now passed in the House.

The numbers: 240 Yes, 179 No, and 5 Present.

Late Update: In terms of party breakdown, 12 Democrats voted No, and five Dems voted Present. In addition, seven Republicans voted Yes.

Late Late Update: The roll call vote is available here. The listing of crossover votes is available after the jump.The following seven Republicans voted in favor of the resolution: Joseph Cao (LA), Jo Ann Emerson (MO), Jeff Flake (AZ), Bob Inglis (SC), Walter Jones (NC), Tom Petri (WI), and Dana Rohrabacher (CA).

The following 12 Democrats voted no: Michael Arcuri (NY), Bill Delahunt (MA), Gabrielle Giffords (AZ), Maurice Hinchey (NY), Paul Hodes (NH), Dennis Kucinich (OH), Dan Maffei (NY), Eric Massa (NY), Jim McDermott (WA), Gwen Moore (WI), Gene Taylor (MS), and Harry Teague (NM).

The following five Democrats voted present — which in parliamentary terms is a polite form of voting no: Eliot Engel (NY), Bill Foster (IL), Barney Frank (MA), Carol Shea-Porter (NH), and Ike Skelton (MO).

And the following six Democrats and four Republicans missed the vote: Gary Ackerman (D-NY), Gresham Barret (R-SC), Mike Conaway (R-TX), Peter Hoekstra (R-MI), Stephen Lynch (D-MA), John McHugh (R-NY), Joe Sestak (D-PA), John Tanner (D-TN), Nydia Velázquez (D-NY), and Maxine Waters (D-CA).

Masthead Masthead
Editor & Publisher:
Managing Editor:
Senior News Editor:
Assistant Editor:
Editor at Large:
Investigations Desk:
Senior Political Correspondent:
Senior Editor:
Front Page Editor:
Editor for Prime & Special Projects:
General Manager & General Counsel:
Executive Publisher:
Head of Product:
Director of Technology:
Publishing Associate:
Front-End Developer:
Senior Designer: