Al Franken To Host 3rd Annual ‘Minnesota Congressional Delegation Hotdish Competition’

Last year, the hotdish competition ended in a tie between Franken and former Republican Rep. Chip Cravaack. 

“I’m very excited about hosting another Hotdish Off tomorrow,” Franken said in a statement. “I’m looking forward to defending my title as the Minnesota delegation’s hotdish champion and spending some quality time with the other members of the Minnesota delegation.”

This time around, Senator Franken will be joined by eight of the nine other members of the Minnesota congressional delegation including; Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Reps. Collin Peterson (D-MN), Betty McCollum (D-MN), Michele Bachmann (R-MN), Keith Ellison (D-MN), Tim Walz (D-MN), Eric Paulsen (R-MN), and Rick Nolan (D-MN). Rep. John Kline (R-MN) is not participating. The Hotdish competition will take place in the Senate office building at 1:30 p.m.

(Scene from the 2012 competition, pcitured left)



Hunter Walker is a national affairs reporter for TPM. He came to the site in 2013 from the New York Observer. He has also written for New York Magazine, Gawker, the Village Voice, Forbes, The Daily, and Deadspin. He can be reached at