In it, but not of it. TPM DC

Rep. Chris Murphy Launches CT-SEN Campaign, Second Dem In The Race (VIDEO)


[TPM SLIDESHOW: Goodbye, Joe: Lieberman Announces He'll Retire In 2012]

Murphy was first elected in the Democratic wave of 2006, defeating 24-year incumbent Republican Nancy Johnson by a margin of 56%-44%. He was re-elected by 59%-39% in 2008, and by a narrower 54%-46% in the Republican year of 2010.

Two days ago, former Connecticut Secretary of State Susan Bysiewicz got into the race. The next shoe dropped yesterday, when Lieberman officially announced his retirement.

Progress overnight on deployment of new commenting system. We hope to move into a short beta-testing phase shortly.