Jeff Flake Wins Arizona Senate Race


Rep. Jeff Flake (R) has defeated Richard Carmona (D) to become the next senator from Arizona, cable networks projected.

The congressman, who has served in the House since 2001, ran as a conservative focused on opposing government spending and earmarks.

He will replace Sen. Jon Kyl (R), the No. 2 Republican in the chamber who did not seek reelection.

Carmona, a physician and former public health official, was long seen as the underdog in the solidly Republican state but mounted a serious challenge for the seat, running close to Flake in numerous polls.Correction: We initially reported that Flake has served in Congress since 2003, but in fact Flake’s first term began in 2001. We regret the error.


Sahil Kapur is TPM's senior congressional reporter and Supreme Court correspondent. His articles have been published in the Huffington Post, The Guardian and The New Republic. Email him at and follow him on Twitter at @sahilkapur.